A Quick Letter to PHPC (As We Prepare For Worship)

To Palmetto Hills,

This coming Sunday, I have been asked to preach on the topic of homosexuality and same-sex attraction. The church has (historically) done a poor job in discussing issues based in the realm of sexuality; and in this case, keeping those who profess to be Christians (and non-Christians) yet struggle with same-sex attraction at arms length. But this is an issue that we must be ready to understand and dialogue with winsomeness, love, and the truths of Scripture. What better place than the church and through God’s Living Word that we get to address and approach this topic.

I understand that this topic might be something you want to introduce to your children on your own time. I want to say this: I completely understand! We want them to still be fed from God’s Word on Sunday, which is why we are offering a children’s church during this sermon time. And if you would like to keep your children in the service, know that I am working to make Sunday morning’s sermon convicting, applicable, Gospel-centered, and cautious in wording. I want to make any conversations you might have with your family as focused on growing in Christ as possible.

Sunday morning should spark some conversation, which I hope will carry over into Sunday night’s service. I would encourage you to come to our service Sunday night to hear from the book of Acts some challenging ways Christians are to minister to the broken people of this world.

If you are interested in resources to further your study on this subject, or are looking for ways to talk to your children, I would recommend the following books:

What Does The Bible Say About Homosexuality? by Kevin DeYoung

Love Into Light by Peter Hubbard

Washed and Waiting by Wesley Hill

Is God Anti-Gay? by Sam Allberry

The Bible and Homosexual Practice: Texts and Hermeneutics by Robert A.J. Gagnon

I would also ask that if you have any questions or concerns leading up to or after the service, please contact me by email. I will respond to you in a timely manner. I hope to see you all Sunday morning! I am eager to see how the Holy Spirit will work in our hearts and minds to change us to be more like Jesus.

Your Pastor,

Jacob Morrison

Leave a Reply

