What’s In A Song?

As many of the youth will tell you, I have a taste in music that is not “hip.”  When we are eating meals on Wednesday nights (which you should come to if you are in Jr. or Sr. High), I like to have music playing in the background.  One of the groups I enjoy listening to is Mumford and Sons.  They are a British band, whose lead singer is the son of Christian parents who are active in the evangelical church.  While the singer does not claim to be Christian because of all the “cultural baggage” that comes with the term (a very post post-modern thing to say), his songs do seem to carry undertones of redemption and depravity.  

Take, for example, this song called “Awake My Soul.”  The words are printed underneath.

How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes
I struggle to find any truth in your lies
And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know
My weakness I feel I must finally show

Lend me your hand and we’ll conquer them all
But lend me your heart and I’ll just let you fall
Lend me your eyes I can change what you see
But your soul you must keep, totally free
Har har, har har
har har, har har

awake my soul…
awake my soul…

How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes
I struggle to find any truth in your lies
And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know
My weakness I feel I must finally show
Har har, har har
har har, har har

In these bodies we will live, 
in these bodies we will die
Where you invest your love, 
you invest your life

In these bodies we will live, 
in these bodies we will die
Where you invest your love, 
you invest your life

awake my soul…
awake my soul…
awake my soul…
For you were made to meet your maker

awake my soul…
awake my soul…
awake my soul…
For you were made to meet your maker
You were made to meet your maker

Here is another song, called “Roll Away Your Stone.”  

Roll away your stone, I’ll roll away mine
Together we can see what we will find
Don’t leave me alone at this time,
For I am afraid of what I will discover inside

You told me that I would find a hole,
Within the fragile substance of my soul
And I have filled this void with things unreal,
And all the while my character it steals

Darkness is a harsh term don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I seek

It seems that all my bridges have been burned,
But, you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works
It’s not the long walk home 
that will change this heart,
But the welcome I receive with the restart

Darkness is a harsh term don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I seek
Darkness is a harsh term don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I seek
Darkness is a harsh term don’t you think?
And yet it dominates the things I seek

Stars hide your fires,
And these here are my desires
And I will give them up to you this time around
And so, I’ll be found 
with my steak stuck in this ground
Marking its territory of this newly impassioned soul
hide your fires,
these are my desires
And I will give them up to you this time around
ADD:And so, I’ll be found 
with my steak stuck in this ground
Marking its territory of this newly impassioned soul

But you, you’ve gone too far this time
You have neither reason nor rhyme
With which to take this soul that is so rightfully mine

Why did I post this?  Because the music we listen to matters.  It shapes (sometimes discreetly, sometimes blatantly) our worldview. So why would you listen to terrible music that lacks substance?  Why would you listen to music that has the same message over and over about going to a club to meet someone to hook up with?  

While I am posting videos, I might as well plug my brother-in-law.  When we tell people he is good at the mandolin, like really good, people give us the “yeah right” response.  Seriously, the dude is good.  Check out this video of him, it is well worth your time.  

 

Leave a Reply

