Wed Links

Hope everyone is having a great week.  We are off to the mountains for a two day vacation starting tomorrow.  In reality, I will be finishing my studying for the licensure examination and taking my exam Saturday, so it is not much of a vacation.  We had a great time last night with the college-age group, and are looking forward to spending Tuesday nights with them this summer.  If you are interested in attending, please feel free to contact me.

-PHPC recently finished a series on the book of Judges.  But one thing we struggled with was what to do with the last few chapters.  They are graphic and can be disturbing for certain demographics.  This made Trevin Wax’s brief article interesting for me, because he asks the question: Is the Bible Too Violent for Kids?  My response is that it is not, and the gold found in the texts of even the hardest passages are needed for God’s people.  What is yours?

-I love baseball.  In fact, I was going to play baseball in college (for a tiny college, but still playing at a collegiate level) until my knees blew out.  When that happened, I was pretty lost, angry, and empty.  My life had revolved around reaching the next step, the next level, which I thought would satisfy me every desire.  Some interesting things happened after I blew my knees out: I decided to take up golf (which fed my desire to compete and succeed), I decided to go to college in PA to play golf (to get away from the identity I spent years creating), and I became a Christian.  My desire to excel and be the best golfer (which I was not. Far from it actually) took a backseat to learning and loving Jesus.  Why do I tell you this?  Because this is something that plagues all of us.  We all have this idol called success.  It might look like playing college sports, it might look like attaining a dream job, or a dream relationship.  Sooner or later, it all comes crashing down.  Here is a great story of redemption happening in a real athlete’s life (I was never a real athlete. If you think you are, ask yourself: Could I play professionally? If the answer is no, then you are not an athlete.  You are a weekend warrior).

-Finally, here is a video that I saw a week or two ago and thought was hilarious.  Sometimes, it is about the nail.

Leave a Reply

